Information overload and crises of management

Here’s the dilemma.

I was faced with cyber heaps of daily emails, internet links, online journals and newspapers, but was pathetically unable to process any of it effectively. Instead of  sensibly logging off permanently, I decided to add the world of social media to the virtual heap and took myself off on a fabulous workshop to learn how to put it altogether (thanks to Liz Cable at Reach Further).

If I thought I was swamped before, it was nothing compared to the ocean I find myself in now. Worse, I am now actively contributing to this information overload. I can’t participate in this new world without feeding the blogs, the tweets, the links. I worry about where it all goes, and the energy used in transmitting and tapping into it. I daren’t think about some future global energy crisis sending the whole virtual edifice crashing down. Probably just as soon as I’ve got to grips with it all.

But feeling guilty about adding to the worldwide web word count, and anxiety attacks about worldwide energy resources aren’t going to alter the fact this is all about a paradigm shift in the way everyone operates their lives.

There is luckily a possible solution for me. Another Reaching Further workshop to learn how to deal with it all.

Respond to Information overload and crises of management

Leave a Reply

