Sunday Selections

Panoramic beach II

Panoramic beach II

I am indebted to the always stimulating Wandering the Dream Space blog for alerting me the Sunday Selections idea of Frogpondsrock. It was one of those serendipitous moments, since I had only yesterday mentioned all my hard drive unseen digital photographs. The idea is simple but fun. It’s just a question of digging through the archives for some old images to post. It’s like looking through the old family albums, except the inevitably more eclectic less selective digital version. And therein lies the appeal; all those odd shots which would never have found a place in the narrative of the family album even if I’d been inclined to print and stick.

Today’s selection is based around a series of odd shots I took on an old Sony phone camera quite a few years ago. I was experimenting with a primitive panoramic feature, and it was of course in the days before photo editing apps. I have resisted the temptation to email to my mobile devices and edit through Filterstorm, Camerabag et al. These are the raw unedited thing in all their primitive glory, but I quite like them.

The opening shot above is an image of a beach in Puglia in Italy. We were a group of 15 hoping to find space to sit together. People had been raving about the beach, but when we arrived, all we saw was a packed mass of people on a narrow strip of grey sand. Oddly though, when you turned the other way, it was all empty sea.

panoramic beach

panoramic beach

Still on a beach theme, but this time in the UK, the photo below shows Brighton beach in the summer. I’m surprised I found time to take this photo. I remember being more fascinated by the number of white cardigans and pastel M&S macs I counted that day.

Panoramic Brighton

Panoramic Brighton

Enough of summer. I remembered the panoramic feature in time to take a clichéd view of the alps during winter, but what’s wrong with cliché? I think the feature did justice to the panoramic grandeur surrounding me.

panoramic alps

panoramic alps

These mountains are in the Cogne valley I visited a couple of months ago. I think I take the same views every time I go there. But it’s unavoidable. The views are compelling. One of the restaurants in the town has a panoramic restaurant with extraordinary views of two valleys. A bit of editing would improve the final image, but you get the idea….

panoramic restaurant

panoramic restaurant

One response to Sunday Selections

Leave a Reply

