On Enforced Isolation

Be careful what you wish for. An old adage forcefully running through my head as I have lain in bed staring at ceiling and listening to Radio 4 for the past 24 hours.

Woe is me. After posting just two days ago on the attraction of total seclusion from the world, I have been confined to bed with nasty sickness. I suspect an opened but too long overlooked small jar of mackerel pate lurking in the far depths of the fridge.

I know I’m sick when I can’t even pick up a book. What a waste of 24 hours away from the world to not even have been able to read. I have just about had the energy to hit the snooze button on the radio, and make weak demands for cups of tea this morning as my appetite slowly returned.

On the bright side, I have found it very soothing to gaze at shifting light patterns on the ceiling and walls and on the trees outside between drifting in and out of sleep. I am hyper-aware of the altering patterns of lights and darks and the tonal relativities of my surroundings. I wonder how I would paint them all.

Im suddenly feeling quite a bit better though. I hope that normal service will be resumed tomorrow.

One response to On Enforced Isolation

Leave a Reply

