Changing Direction and Perspective

I was talking with another artist yesterday about the value of looking at work in new environments. Re-situating a painting or an image in an entirely different setting can be extremely enlightening. Much the same fresh perspective can be gained from viewing a work in a mirror. Or turning it upside down. There’s that old story about Kandinsky coming home one evening and doing a double take of a painting he had left upside down at the end of his hallway. His re-seeing of the inverted work was instrumental in the development of his abstract art.

I was reminded of all this this morning as I walked the dog in torrential rain. It was so wet that my clothing ceased to wick moisture from my body and instead became a conduit for intravenous delivery of rain to my entire being. I was, however, undeterred by the prevailing conditions because there is something quite masochistically pleasurable in getting so drenched that you might as well be swimming.

And I made the decision that it was time to reverse direction on a circular walk I have now done a good few times. Aside from the fact that going counter-clockwise makes it seem like an entirely different walk (which in a way it is), it is always interesting to see things from the opposite direction. I invariably encounter something worthwhile, and this morning was no exception.

I spotted a new path. I can’t imagine how I managed to miss it so easily all the times I had passed by from the other direction. It was a good path: quiet, greenery, trees, off-road, extended the overall walk by a perfect 10 minutes, and at the same time increased the potential amount of off-lead time for the dog. I felt exceedingly happy as I ambled along, marvelling at my previous ignorance.

There are so many opportunities to change direction, see from a new angle, turn things upside down and look at in reflection. These are powerful phrases and terms which it pays me to bear in mind not just when painting.

Respond to Changing Direction and Perspective

Leave a Reply

