Sorting Social Media? Think Again

Another article on how to survive social media as an artist. I grabbed it with glee, speed-read it, and heaved a sigh of resignation. I know all the theory. Oh, I’m so good on theory. Please let me read about everything I don’t know so I can avoid doing anything else.

First, the sensible advice. Schedule a limited time for dealing with twitter, Facebook et al. But no, no, no. It’s all or nothing with me. I can’t do limited. If I could do limited, I wouldn’t have a problem. I have addictive tendencies best dealt with by abstinence.

Establishing routines? I have tried and failed miserably for the whole of 2011. I don’t care to think about it. I am supposed to be up at six, tearing round the park, writing pages and the blogs before I have starting scrambling eggs. Time was supposed to be critical. But nothing in my life happens at the designated hour if it involves just me and no one else. I am as adept at blogging at the end of the day as I am at any other time. I am tapping this out as I wait for the sink to fill with hot water. This was not part of today’s plan. I got distracted by the promising Tweet leading me to the promising article  just as I planned to wash the dishes.

I am networked to the hilt. And I fear joining Google+. If it combines the ‘best’ of Twitter and Facebook, it will clearly end up being even less containable. And I’d still have to ‘do’ Fb and Twitter pending the whole world joining Google+.

I struggle on. One day I will resolve it all and happen upon the universal solution to my life and what a day that will be.

And if you are struggling, and have been living on Mars, and haven’t read any survival articles, you could look at Artonomy’s.

One response to Sorting Social Media? Think Again

  1. Russell Allen

    I was thinking about routines yesterday. Specifically my ability to desire routine, create a routine and then break it. I do have routines which I keep to. I eat every day, I go to work, put petrol in the car etc. These are routines driven by necessity. It’s my aspirational desires that I long to become routine that rarely survive. Write every day, eat more fruit and veg, save money, spend more time with the children.
    I also I struggle with the definition of routine. If it has to be predictable, regular, fixed duration, it starts to take on an emotional subtext such as boring. This leads my child self to want to avoid the activity which in turn triggers my critical parental self to tell me off for not doing it. There is another part too which is possibly about not being able to accept the status quo as being good enough. Usually the aspirations that fail to become routine have the prefix “I must do more…” or “I must do less…”
    I haven’t come to any specific conclusions yet, I’m still involved in the analysis. However so far I believe I don’t have the personality that would really like to be bound by too many routines “Thank you for your lovely invitation, it does sound like a lot of fun, but Tuesday evening is always ironing night” isn’t something I’m ever likely to say.
    Maybe when I find myself hankering after routine I need to understand what is motivating these aspirational changes in my life that seem so significant I am prepared to beat myself up and think less of myself if I don’t make them real.

Leave a Reply

