Light and Form

I was amused on a walk today to stumble upon this extraordinary form in the woods.

At first I thought it was a ‘real’ sculpture nestling in the roots of the ancient tree. Maybe someone with 20:20 vision would not have been fooled, but from the camera shot above (I promise un-enhanced by any digital means known to woman or man), my camera also saw it that way.

A spaniel just sitting there? No, just one of those quirky little moments when the sun’s rays just happened to catch a piece of tree root at exactly the angle needed to create this mirage of form.

As I watched and photographed, it slowly dissolved. I doubt I will catch it again just by chance.

Respond to Light and Form

Leave a Reply

